Data Vendor Sends SPAM about The Dangers of Prospecting Databases
Dec 08
Today (4 September, 2008) ComplianceAndPrivacy.Com received an email that appears to be from Harris Infosource, a D&B Company. Not a lot wrong with that, you may say. The email is a cold unsolicited email, or SPAM, What makes this amusing is that the SPAM has this subject line:
“Why Using Cheap Prospect Lists Can Cost You Big!”
Harris Inforsource, it seems, are the purveyors of fine prospect lists.
Harris addressed their SPAM to Milton Bennett at our domain. If Milton existed, if Milton had ever existed, if we had ever created, used, publicised an address for Milton, who is not now and never has been a member of our staff, then this would have been something we could pass off as “just one of those things”. But we have never heard of Milton Bennett. He is a figment of Harris Infosource’s database. We wonder if they are selling him as a part of their very fine data.
But this is SPAM with a cloned email address.
Look, here’s a screenshot of the email:

The purists will note that this is a composite of two screenshots. It couldn’t be captured as just the one. And there is the email address, plain as a pikestaff.
Seems like the “rigorous, patented DUNSRight™” process fouled up rather well there, then!
Oh the irony! We do hope they use their own systems!
We’re cynical here at C&P, so we did some small digging. After all, Harris Infosource might have been the target of some wicked person who was trying to discredit them. But it appears not. The “from” address is harrisinfo-mail.com, not harrisinfo.com, so we did a Whois check. Harrisifno-mail is owned by Smartsource, who are an eMarketing company. That is not a surprise. Any sensible corporation outsources its email to avoid its own domain becoming known as a source for SPAM.
We checked. Our Peter Andrews forwarded the email to Harris Infosource as an attachment, to ensure that they coudl inspect all the email headers. He sent it to abuse@harrisinfo.com and also to customerservice@harrisinfo.com asking:
Is the enclosed email from your company?
We like to check before we run a story, after all.
He received the following answer from a sales guy. Hmm, not exactly ‘customer service’, then:
Good Afternoon Peter,
Yes the email is from our company.
Thanks,
(we have edited out personal information)
Harris InfoSource (A D&B Company)
(role edited out)Tel. 800-888-5900 (Extension edited out)
Fax (Fax edited out in case it identifies the writer)
email edited out | www.harrisinfo.com
So, it comes from Harris, it is genuine, not a cloned email in order to wreck their reputation.
Peter confesses to having been a little naughty. He has sent them the following reply:
You are 100% sure about that?
If so, how did you get the data? Milton’s email address doesn’t appear anywhere. I’m his manager and he’s an intern here.
Remember that Milton does not exist, never has existed. But Peter is interested in the source of the data. Harris Infosource are, after all, a D&B company, and appear to understand the damage that bad prospect data can do to an organisation. Harris Infosource’s website says that they are purveyors of data.
The reply wil be interesting. We’ll bring it to you when it happens.
There has been nothing from the “abuse” address. One might think such an address woudl be monitored, but it appears not to be.
We’re fair minded. Harris Infosource is welcome to make a full reply to this article. We’ll publish it verbatim, thiough we reserve the right to take trade puffery out. They can email the fictitious Milton with it if they like. We get to see all badly addressed mail. “Milton” will now be maintained as a SPAM Trap, now, though. All mail to Milton gets forwarded to the SPAM vigilante groups.



superb read, I just passed that onto a colleague who was doing a little research on of which. And he actually decided to buy me lunch because WHEN I found it for him smile So ok , i’ll rephrase that: Thanks pertaining to lunch!
Last week i downloaded Lost Planet Extreme Condition Torrent from http://www.games-iso.com and, despite the fact its not really a new game, its simply the best NINTENDO DS game ever made in my opinion…
My friend can’t find to be able to the particular 2009 posts. Could everyone deliver out us this website link?
Thank you for idea and good work.
Interesting information provided, have send your url to a few others
Worst evaluate ever. Nickelodeon, AOL, Pf iser, Myfonts, Elbanco Decrap, Syfy. Guy, are you blind or unbelievably high?
There is obviously lots for me to ascertain outside of my books. Thanks for that superb learn,
Does your website effectively show emoticons? Simply because my site cannot?-
Just thought I would remark and say fantastic theme, did you code it for yourself? Looks great!
Do notforget Union Bank as 1 from the worst redesigns.
Syfy detest it or not it is really a a top quality typeface therapy.. the NYPL logo is great, and I dig the the new pfizer mark. AOL is left to be seen as to if it may be the greatest mark. I suppose one or two of the worst marks in the 12 months were notnearly that bad. I d isagree with Kraft I kinda dig that and msn.